SORB Classification Hearings

With only a few exceptions, if you’ve been convicted of a sex offense you can expect that you will have to register with the Sex Offender Registry Board.

My goal is to make sure SORB doesn’t “over-classify” you by assuming you’re more dangerous than you actually are.

SORB classifications happen in several stages:

1. Recommended classification

The SORB classification process has two stages. The first is called the “recommended” (sometimes also called “preliminary” or “initial”) classification stage. SORB will send you a notice inviting you to submit information for them to consider in deciding your recommended classification level.

At this point, the only information SORB knows about you probably does not represent the person you are today, so I understand that the temptation to respond can be strong.

But before you try and tell them who you really are, wait.
I can help.

I know the kind of information that is helpful to submit, but even more importantly, the kind of information that is not helpful to submit at this stage. We might be able to convince SORB at this point to recommend a low classification level, which would avoid the stress and expense of having a full hearing.

2. Final classification

If you choose not to accept SORB’s recommended classification, you can request a hearing where you’ll have an opportunity to present evidence and make arguments.

This is where we will really work together to change the narrative. Everyone has a story, and my goal is to help you tell yours while incorporating statistical research about sexual reoffending, law, and psychology.

I also know that this is not easy for you. And that’s why I’ll always do my best to try and make you feel as comfortable as possible and make sure you feel heard.

3. If necessary, judicial review